Motorcycle Insurance Requirements in New Hampshire

Have you recently purchased a motorcycle in New Hampshire, or moved to the state and need to know what you need for your motorcycle insurance? Read on to learn more, and also talk to an insurance agent at Associated American Insurance, serving the greater Manchester, NH area.

You may be surprised to learn that New Hampshire is one of just three states in the US that does not require every rider to have an insurance policy for a motorcycle. However, many circumstances might make this necessary. For instance, if a rider has been convicted of a DUI for drugs or alcohol, he or she may be required to have an insurance policy. This is also the case if the individual has multiple reckless operation citations.

Consider What’s Best for Your Situation

Though it’s less expensive to own a motorcycle without insurance, you’ll find it’s much the opposite if you get into an accident. For this reason, it’s a good idea to have insurance coverage. New Hampshire is an at-fault state, which means that if you don’t have appropriate coverage and you’re found to be at-fault for an accident in which you were involved, you will have to deal with penalties, fines, possible license suspension, and even possible jail time. That’s in addition to having to pay the property and medical bills for the accident.

Minimum Motorcycle Insurance Requirements in New Hampshire

If you do decide you’d like to get motorcycle insurance, be sure you understand the limits. They are as follows:

  • $1,000 for medical payments
  • $25,000 for destruction or damage of property
  • $25,000 for death or physical injury to one individual
  • $50,000 for death or physical injury to two or more individuals

These limits are in place for good reason. If you want more information and help to figure out your motorcycle insurance policy perimeters, you can discuss it with Associated American Insurance of the Manchester, NH area.